The Bread that WOULDN’T die

So, I have this recipe for bread.  I found it on the internet.  It calls for 300mL of this and 500g of that.  Well…I decided to unmetricize Americanize the recipe.  And then I realized that is kind of difficult given that “g” is a measure of weight and I measure flour by volume.  Oh boy, this is gonna be fun!

here is the RECIPE.  We’re talking 6 ingredients, 1 rise homemade yumminess:

500 g all-purpose flour (or substitute up to 125 g mixed grain or whole wheat flour)
1 packet (7 g) yeast
1 tsp granulated sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp oil
300 ml warm water

In a large bowl mix together the dry ingredients. Make a large well in the dry ingredients and pour in the water and oil. Mix together until you have a shaggy dough.

Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead for 7 to 10 minutes, until the dough is smooth and elastic. Shape and ease the dough into a 2-lb loaf tin and cover loosely. Let rise until doubled in size, about 45 minutes to an hour.

Preheat the oven to 200 C / 400 F. Once risen, bake for about 30 to 35 minutes, until the bottom sounds hollow when tapped.
Cool on a wire rack.

Well, at least my liquid Pyrex measuring cup is marked in mL.

So I fill it up with 300 mL warm water and dump it in my bread machine bowl.  Then I add 2 1/4 ish tsp. of yeast (because I buy my yeast in bulk and that is the equivalent of one yeast pkg), and the sugar….letting it get all “yeasty-like”….

then I add the oil and the flour (500 g of flour—2 cups?  3?  maybe 5?  I have no idea) and 1 1/2 t salt (~or wait, did I already add salt??  Oh no, I did.  whoops. We’ll just call ‘er 3 tsp of salt.  oh well.)  [note: just like sugar causes yeast to grow, salt causes it to STOP growing]  So…then I turned on the bread machine to do the dirty work for me.  And the 2 cups of flour doesn’t seem to be cutting it.  I attempt to “gradually” add up to 1 more cup of flour–DUMP!!!  it was clumped and about a heaping cup landed in there. (doh!)  It just gets worse.

I was supposed to take the bread OUT of the bread machine after kneading and let it rise ONE time in the pan.  Well…..I forgot that step.  It grew and grew and grew …in the bread machine.  (oof!)  So, now I have to dig the dough out of the bread machine and then dig the crazy little stir thing out of the dough and now the dough is F – L – A – T.  Second rise?  anyone?  Sure, Why not?

After a semi-useless 2nd rise, I throw the loaf in the oven at 350° for 35 minutes.  When the timer beeped, I went to take the bread out and it wasn’t done.  grr…directions call for 400° oven.  I’ll just turn up the heat and leave it in there for another  5 minutes or so.  [define “or so”  whoops!  totally forgot to set a timer.  ….15 minutes later……]

Perfection.  Wow, this stuff is AMAZING!  I don’t think I could kill it even if I tried.  And trust me, I gave it my best shot.

4 thoughts on “The Bread that WOULDN’T die

  1. Pingback: Oh, YES, I did!! | one acre farm

reply?

